Don't Send Meeting Updates

I’m seeing a lot of questions like this: “After a meeting request is created and sent to all our attendees, I want to add notes to that meeting on my calendar but I don't want other attendees to get the note I am saving. In Outlook 2003, it was a breeze. It lets me save the note without forcing me to send update. How do I do it in Outlook 2007?”

Clicking the X to close the form should bring up a dialog which offers Save and send updates, Save and don't send updates, or Don't Save. If it only offers Save and Send updates or Don't Save but keep open, use the following steps to save the changes to the meeting request without sending the update:

1. Click Cancel on the Save and Update dialog, if open.
2. Click Save icon in Quick Access Toolbar (or Ctrl+S).
3. Choose the ‘Don't save but keep open’ option.
4. Click X to close.
5. Choose the close, no update option.

Open the meeting and verify the notes were saved. Yes, it is a roundabout way to do what should be a simple task, but it works. And yes, there is at least one bug in the process since it saves the changes after leading you to believe they would not be saved.

Another recent question involved changing a meeting time or date without sending updates to attendees. While I have to wonder why someone would change a meeting time or date and not want to notify the attendees, it is possible - just remove the checkmark from all names on the Scheduling assistant tab and make your changes.

 

Outlook Quick Tip: Tiny Text

A reader asks: "When I compose a message it very tiny and unreadable. I changed font to no avail; even size 20 font is very small."

Check your zoom setting. It's on the Format Text ribbon in Outlook 2007. It's never happened to me so I can only guess the recent rash of "tiny text" complaints is caused by errant moves of a mouse wheel.

 

 

 

148 E 3rd Ave Suite 201, San Mateo, CA 94401
Ph: (650)347-7500 Fx: (650)347-7600